Events Calendar

Jing Zhao performs Tan Dun

Tuesday 27 June 2017, 7.30pm

FALLA Danza ritual del Fuego

TAN DUN Intercourse of Fire and Water

TAN DUN Crouching Tiger Concerto

BRITTEN Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes

Tan Dun Conductor
Jing Zhao Cello

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

This concert opens with Manuel de Falla’s Danza ritual del Fuego, a work brimming with pure excitement as a tale of a young gypsy girl’s frantic dance to lure the ghost of her jealous dead lover is illustrated.

Maestro Tan Dun conducts the Crouching Tiger Concerto, a work for cello and chamber orchestra inspired by his Oscar-winning score for Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2001). And the drama doesn't end there, as cellist Jing Zhao performs Intercourse of Fire and Water, a work based on balance and precision, before the concert concludes with Britten's electrifyingly depictive Four Sea Interludes from his opera Peter Grimes

Please not the programme change. Tan Dun Crouching Tiger Concerto will now be performed after the interval.

Ticket information

Tickets: £40, £32.50, £25, £15

Booking fees may apply

Cadogan Hall
Sloane Terrace
020 7730 4500