Events Calendar

Dmitry Masleev performs Shostakovich

Saturday 10 March 2018, 7.30pm

WEBER Euryanthe Overture


SHOSTAKOVICH Piano Concerto No.2

DVOŘÁK Symphony No.7

Christoph König Conductor
Dmitry Masleev Piano

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

This concert opens with the charming Overture to Weber’s opera Euryanthe followed by Martucci’s lush and pensive Notturno. Guaranteed to tug at the heart-strings, Martucci’s stand-alone piece is the epitome of Romanticism, with its yearning melodic lines and luxurious orchestration.

Although the name Shostakovich prompts memories of angst-ridden, defiant works, his Piano Concerto No.2 is a gloriously free, wistful creation. Its famous second movement is especially sublime, setting the scene for the cheeky and energetic movement that follows.

Dvořák’s Symphony No.7 perfectly balances dramatic power and irresistible lyricism. With its arresting opening, gorgeous slow movement, dancing Scherzo and thrilling Finale, this is one of the greatest pieces Dvořák ever wrote.

Ticket information

Tickets: £25.50, £22.50

Groups, students and under 16s discounts available

Booking fees may apply

Reading The Hexagon
Queen's Walk
0118 960 6060