Events Calendar

Esther Yoo performs Sibelius

Thursday 3 May 2018, 7.30pm

GRIEG Holberg Suite

SIBELIUS Violin Concerto

BRAHMS Symphony No.1

Michał Nesterowicz Conductor
Esther Yoo Violin

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

In no other violin concerto is the soloist’s first note – so delicately dissonant and offbeat – more beautiful than in Sibelius’ Violin Concerto. Performed by the young brilliant violinist Esther Yoo, this piece demonstrates Sibelius’ passion for the violin and complete understanding of the sound of the instrument.

Propelled into action by a galloping Praeludium, Grieg’s Holberg Suite opens the concert with five contrasting baroque dances, from an ornate and stately Gavotte to a vivacious and cheerful Rigaudon.

Brahms' was the most stunning symphonic debut in musical history. From its storm-tossed opening to a blazing brass finale, the listener is carried along by the First Symphony's irresistible sense of heroism and triumph.

Ticket information

Tickets: £25.50, £37.00, £40.50, 42.00*

Students and Under 16s: £12.50

Groups and Friends discounts available.

*booking fees may apply

Guildford G Live
London Road
0844 7701 797