Events Calendar

Natasha Paremski performs Rachmaninov

Saturday 8 April 2017, 7.00pm

SIBELIUS Karelia Suite

RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No.1

TCHAIKOVSKY Swan Lake Concert Suite

Barry Wordsworth Conductor
Natasha Paremski Piano

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

With her consistently striking and dynamic performances, Natasha Paremski has been compared to no less a pianist than the great Martha Argerich. Tonight Paremski performs Rachmaninov’s First Concerto, a work bursting with youthful vigour, soul-searching melodies and taxing virtuosity. First comes Sibelius’ patriotic tribute to the Finnish region of Karelia. This immensely tuneful and stirring piece was inspired by episodes in the region’s ancient history and ends in a musical ‘call to arms’. With his three great ballet scores, Tchaikovsky simply rewrote the history of dance theatre. In the second half we hear music from Swan Lake. With its yearning Swan theme, this is music of incomparable grace and beauty that is beloved of audiences all over the world.

Ticket information

Tickets: £21, £19, £16 and £5 for students and under 18s

Booking fees may apply

Sheffield City Hall
Barkers Pool
S1 2JA
01142 789789