Events Calendar

Saint-Saëns Symphony No.3, 'Organ'

Sunday 27 November 2016, 7.30pm

HANDEL Zadok the Priest

SAINT-SAËNS Danse Macabre


SAINT-SAËNS Symphony No.3, 'Organ'

Jean-Luc Tingaud Conductor
Elin Pritchard Soprano
Jonathan Scott Organ
Northampton Bach Choir 

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

To celebrate its 70th Anniversary, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra will join forces with the Northampton Bach Choir for a concert of orchestral and choral masterpieces. Opening the concert in regal style will be Handel’s Zadok the Priest; performed at every British coronation since 1727, this piece ceremoniously opens with layered strings before bursting with choral joy.

The concert will then take on a distinctly French flavour with Saint-Saëns’ devilish Danse Macabre - recognisable as the theme from the TV series Jonathan Creek - and Poulenc’s Gloria for which the outstanding soprano Elin Pritchard joins the Orchestra.

Saint-Saëns’ grand ‘Organ’ Symphony closes this autumn concert. From the brief and haunting introduction to the layered brass finale, this piece soars to the heavens.

Ticket information

Tickets: £35, £33, £30, £28, £24, £16. Under 14s & Schools: £5

Subscription, group and concession discounts available

Booking fees may apply

Northampton Royal & Derngate
Guildhall Road
01604 624811