Events Calendar

Martyn Brabbins conducts Shostakovich

Thursday 15 June 2017, 7.30pm

GLINKA Ruslan and Lyudmila Overture

BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto


Martyn Brabbins Conductor
Jan Mráček Violin

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Glinka’s Overture to his operatic masterpiece, Ruslan and Lyudmila, is full of upbeat exuberance and warm lyricism, making it the perfect opener to this exciting final concert of the Series. Beethoven’s Violin Concerto, meanwhile, is a masterpiece of the genre, bridging the gap between Classical and Romantic concerto styles with elegance and wit, and culminating in a zesty finale that fully explores the instrument’s range.

Cheltenham's 201617 Classical Series concludes with Shostakovich’s imposing Fifth Symphony. Filled with wonderful melodies and stirring rhythms, it bursts with power and rebellious beauty. Writing under Stalin’s constricting Soviet regime, Shostakovich created a blend of satire and submission that intrigues audiences to this day.

Ticket information

Tickets: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50

Booking fees may apply

Cheltenham Town Hall
Imperial Square
GL50 1QA
0844 576 2210