Events Calendar

Callum Smart performs Bruch

Tuesday 20 September 2016, 7.30pm

BEETHOVEN Fidelio Overture

GRIEG Two Elegiac Melodies for String Orchestra

BRUCH Violin Concerto No.1

MENDELSSOHN Symphony No.3, 'Scottish'

Matthew Halls Conductor
Callum Smart Violin

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Pride of place at the opening of Cheltenham's 2016–17 Concert Series is Beethoven’s exhilarating Fidelio Overture, a tour de force of virtuosity and full of adventurous spirit. A more sombre contrast follows in the form of Grieg’s Elegiac Melodies; the often introspective and sombre Grieg took inspiration from the poems of Vinje, which he ‘translated’ into this fine work for strings.

One of the most popular concertos in the repertoire, Bruch’s Violin Concerto No.1 contrasts rhythmic orchestral patterns with dramatic and beautiful melodic themes. Closing the concert is Mendelssohn’s Third Symphony, inspired by his visit to Scotland, and evoking the wildness of the Highlands with the spirit of the Romantic movement.

Ticket information

Tickets: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50

Booking fees may apply

Cheltenham Town Hall
Imperial Square
GL50 1QA
0844 576 2210