Events Calendar

Ivana Gavrić performs Grieg

Saturday 6 February 2016, 7.30pm

MENDELSSOHN Hebrides Overture (Fingal's Cave)

SIBELIUS Finlandia

GRIEG Piano Concerto

BEETHOVEN Symphony No.5

Nick Davies Conductor
Ivana Gavrić Piano 

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Join the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra this spring for an evening of outstanding classical music, led by conductor Nick Davies. Opening the concert will be Mendelssohn’s mysterious and intense Fingal’s Cave and Sibelius‘ evocative Finlandia; its darkly thunderous opening later giving way to peaceful sweeping strings in striking Finnish style.

The centrepiece of tonight’s programme is without doubt one of the most popular works ever written for the piano – Grieg’s Piano Concerto, performed by the BBC Music Magazine Newcomer of the Year 2011 award-winner, Ivana Gavrić. Concluding the evening will be Beethoven’s instantly recognisable Symphony No.5, which begins with some of the most famous bars ever written and changed the landscape of classical music.

Ticket information

Tickets: £33.50, £29.50, £24.50, £18, £11

Under 16s, student, groups and schools discounts available.

Booking fees may apply 

Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall
The Leas
CT20 2DZ
0844 871 3015