Events Calendar

Xuefei Yang performs Rodrigo

Saturday 16 April 2016, 7.30pm

WAGNER Siegfried Idyll

RODRIGO Concierto de Aranjuez

BEETHOVEN Symphony No.3, 'Eroica'

Ben Gernon Conductor
Xuefei Yang Guitar

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Composed as a love letter to his new domestic bliss, Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll was first performed on the stairs of his home to wake up his beloved wife. Originally composed as a private birthday gift, this piece is a delightful opening to the evening’s concert. From German Romanticism to Spanish dance rhythms, the Orchestra will enthral audiences with a performance of Rodrigo’s sun-filled Concierto de Aranjuez.

The highlight of the evening will be Beethoven’s Symphony No.3, ‘Eroica’, the first great symphony to have captured the Romantic imagination. With the breathtaking sweep of the opening movement being counter balanced by a vast funeral march of nerve shredding intensity, this piece truly embodies a heroic spirit.

Ticket information

Tickets: £31.50 

Booking fees may apply

Subscription and under 16s discounts available

Crawley The Hawth
Hawth Avenue
RH10 6YZ
01293 553636