Events Calendar

Italian Romance

Friday 11 October 2019, 7.30pm

MOZART Così fan tutte: Overture

MARTUCCI Notturno No.1

BRUCH Violin Concerto No.1

MENDELSSOHN Symphony No.4 ‘Italian’


Gianluca Marciano Conductor
Francesca Dego Violin

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Tonight’s concert celebrates Italy’s rich tradition of orchestral music. The Overture to Mozart’s sharply satirical Così fan tutte opera provides a playful opening, which gives way to Martucci’s lush and pensive Notturno No.1, with its yearning melodic lines and soothing orchestration.

A highlight of this evening will be Bruch’s much-loved Violin Concerto No.1 performed by Italian violinist Francesca Dego. This piece unleashes the full spectrum of the instrument and to this day is one of the most popular works in the violin repertoire.

Mendelssohn’s buoyant and cheerful Symphony No.4, ‘Italian’ closes this concert with panache and flair; a charming expression of how Italy made him feel.

Ticket information

£16 - £32

Crawley The Hawth
Hawth Avenue
RH10 6YZ
01293 553636