Events Calendar

Seeking New Horizons II: War and Conflict

Thursday 28 February 2019, 7.30pm

STRAVINSKY Suite for Small Orchestra Nos.1 and 2

KORNGOLD Violin Concerto

DVOŘÁK Symphony No.9, ‘From the New World’

Alexander Shelley Conductor
Jennifer Pike Violin

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Even radical revolutionaries have to chill out from time to time, and Stravinsky was no exception. Composed as two small delightful miniatures, his Suites Nos.1 and 2 embody his lightest and most most high-spirited of emotions. In contrast, Korngold’s Violin Concerto is rich in powerful lyricism and unbridled virtuosity. Performed by star-violinist Jennifer Pike, this is a work designed to thrill. Concluding with one of the greatest orchestral works, Alexander Shelley conducts Dvořák’s triumphant ‘New World’ Symphony.

We invite you to enjoy an enhanced listening experience using EnCue, a downloadable app that delivers programme notes to your mobile or tablet device.

EnCue logo

Ticket information

Tickets: £40, £32.50, £25, £15

Booking fees may apply

Cadogan Hall
Sloane Terrace
020 7730 4500