Events Calendar

Seeking New Horizons II: New Discoveries

Thursday 28 February 2019, 7.30pm

STRAVINSKY Suite for Small Orchestra Nos.1 and 2

KORNGOLD Violin Concerto

DVOŘÁK Symphony No.9, ‘From the New World’

Alexander Shelley Conductor
Jennifer Pike Violin

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Dvořák left his native Bohemia in 1892, to seek new opportunities in the USA, marking one of the most productive periods of his career and resulting in his 'New World' Symphony, a work imbued with native American music. Korngold’s foray into Hollywood film music can be traced through the rich powerful lyricism of his Violin Concerto, performed by British violinist Jennifer Pike. During exile in Switzerland, Stravinsky wrote his two Suites for Small Orchestra, providing exquisite and delightful miniatures that have an infectious rhythmic drive and draw their influences from the Classical period. 

For the second half of tonight's concert, we invite you to enjoy an enhanced listening experience using EnCue, a downloadable app that delivers programme notes to your mobile or tablet device.

EnCue logo

View full 2018-19 Cadogan Hall Series

More in the Seeking New Horizons Series:

I:War and Conflict
III: Political Protest

Ticket information

Tickets: £40, £32.50, £25, £15

Booking fees may apply

Cadogan Hall
Sloane Terrace
020 7730 4500