Events Calendar


Streamed performance: Vasily Petrenko with Stephen Hough

Thursday 17 June 2021, 7.30pm
Royal Albert Hall

BERLIOZ Le Corsaire Overture
SAINT-SAËNS Piano Concerto No.5, 'Egyptian'
SCRIABIN Symphony No.2

Vasily Petrenko Conductor
Stephen Hough Piano

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and Music Director Designate Vasily Petrenko return to the Royal Albert Hall to perform a host of French and Russian Romantic masterworks for our next streamed concert, brought directly to the comfort of your own home.

Joining the Orchestra is one of the UK’s most prolific concert pianists, the multiple award winning Stephen Hough – globally renowned for his outstanding interpretations of the piano repertoire and widely regarded as one of the most important and distinctive pianists of his generation. Stephen will perform Saint-Saëns’ Fifth (and final) Piano Concerto, ‘The Egyptian’ – a beguiling piece, filled with exotic sounds and vibrant rhythms.

The concert gets off to an upbeat start with music from another of the great French composers, Berlioz, with his Le Corsaire Overture, whilst Scriabin’s rarely performed, yet utterly enthralling Second Symphony closes the concert. This intense and passionate work takes audiences on a musical journey of rousing highs and devastating lows, and of which Vasily Petrenko’s interpretations have been critically acclaimed.

Ticket information

Tickets are from £10* each (with additional donation options available).

The performance is available until Thursday 17 June at 7:30pm BST

What happens when I book?

Once you have bought your ticket(s) you will be sent joining instructions ahead of the performance to help you sign in and prepare for the premiere. 

If you need assistance or have any questions about booking online or joining instructions please email your query to

*(plus £1 transaction fee)