Events Calendar

Symphonic Summer

Thursday 1 June 2017, 7.30pm

ROSSINI La Scala di Seta Overture

FAURÉ Pavane

TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No.1

DVOŘÁK Symphony No.8

Brian Wright Conductor
Alexander Panfilov Piano

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

For an evening of outstanding classics from your favourite composers, join the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for the highlight of the Bexhill Music Festival, with Symphonic Summer!

Opening with the light-hearted Overture to Rossini's La Scala di Seta, internationally acclaimed and Sussex-based conductor Brian Wright leads the Orchestra in this lively opener, which bursts with energy and paves the way for Fauré's more pensive Pavane. Perhaps the best known of Fauré's works, its famous winding melody characterises this enchanting miniature, creating a tranquil and magical atmosphere.

Tchaikovsky's ever-popular Piano Concerto No.1 provides the centrepiece for this thrilling concert. A majestic theme soars above crashing chords in the piano, creating a dramatic and triumphant opening, which contrasts with the lyrical passages that follow.

Concluding this gripping programme is Dvořák's joyous Symphony No.8. Its twists and turns leap from one melody to the next in an exhilarating and theatrical work, which is sure to be a crowd-pleaser.

We would like to congratulate Kenneth Broberg on winning this year’s Hastings International Piano Concerto Competition. Unfortunately he is unavailable to perform with us on 1 June, however we are delighted to welcome back HIPCC 2015 winner, Alexander Panfilov.

Ticket information

Tickets: £32, £25, £17

Booking fees may apply

Bexhill De La Warr Pavilion
Bexhill On Sea
East Sussex
TN40 1DP
01424 229 111