Events Calendar

Dvořák's 'New World' Symphony

Sunday 24 May 2015, 7.30pm

ROSSINI The Barber of Seville Overture 

MOZART Piano Concerto No.21

DVOŘÁK Symphony No.9, 'From the New World'

Andrew Greenwood Conductor
Sarah Beth Briggs Piano

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Popular pianist Sarah Beth Briggs, ‘an artist of extraordinary magnetism’ (The Daily Telegraph), joins the Orchestra for a performance of Mozart’s virtuosic Piano Concerto No.21. One of Mozart’s sunniest compositions, the Concerto combines a comic-opera jollity with darker shadows to create exquisite melodies. 

Rossini’s stunning The Barber of Seville Overture is the perfect opener, bringing together elements of comedy and excitement a quintessentially Rossini style. Conducted by Andrew Greenwood, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra closes the concert with Dvořák’s seminal work, Symphony No.9, ‘From the New World’. With echoes of the Native American and early African American folk traditions, the running tune throughout the piece so perfectly captures the flavour of the country that it is often described as an original American folk tune.

Ticket information

Tickets: £41, £32, £28, £25, £15

Groups, students and under 16s discounts available

Booking fees may apply 

Dartford Orchard Theatre
Home Gardens
01322 220000