Events Calendar

15 January Davis Mondavi Center Vasily Petrenko Olga Kern RPO on Tour USA 555x405.jpg

RPO on Tour: Davis, CA

Saturday 15 January 2022, 7.30pm
Jackson Hall, Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

Britten Peter Grimes: Four Sea Interludes
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.1
Elgar Enigma Variations

Vasily Petrenko Conductor
Olga Kern Piano

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

This concert is part of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s tour of the United States in 2022.

Celebrating its 75th anniversary, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra returns to the Mondavi Center with music director Vasily Petrenko leading a program of English and Russian. Britten rewrote the Four Sea Interludes to stand on their own from Peter Grimes, his masterful opera. Pianist Olga Kern joins the RPO as soloist on Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No.1, one of the most beloved classical works. The Enigma Variations, 14 musical sketches of the composer’s friends, was the work that brought Elgar worldwide acclaim.

We use cookies to provide you with the best experience of our website.