An image of YolanDa Brown and Vasily Petrenko

Award-winning UK saxophonist and broadcaster, YolanDa Brown, sat down with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's new Music Director Vasily Petrenko back in August 2021.

The four-part video series covers a range of topics from Vasily's new role as Music Director to the value of music education.

Watch the full series below to discover more about Vasily's thoughts on the future of orchestral music, his vision for the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's next chapter and much more:

Part 1

The pair discuss Petrenko’s responsibilities as Music Director of the RPO, the musicians’ eagerness to grow and perform, and what he looks forward to sharing with our audiences now concert halls around the world begin to open up once more.

Part 2

YolanDa and Vasily examine what inclusivity means to the RPO and how the orchestra seeks to redefine itself for the modern age. As Vasily also explains the RPO’s move to the London Borough of Brent is part of a wider journey to remain dedicated to inclusivity.

Part 3

The conversation moves to consider the importance of music education for all age groups, how to bring in diverse audiences, the power of music as a method of communication and the value of music to family relationships.

Part 4

In the final part of the series YolanDa and Vasily reflect on orchestral music and the RPO’s place in the ever-changing modern world.

As a part of our 75th Anniversary Season, we welcome Vasily Petrenko as our new Music Director and look ahead to our Great British Music London season at the Royal Albert Hall and Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall.

Celebrating the themes of freedom, hope and adventure within the music of some of the nation’s greatest composers, and ushering in a new era for the RPO.

View Great British Music season

Discover the exclusive benefits enjoyed by our most loyal audience members.
Support the RPO on our journey to make orchestral music accessible to all.
Stay up to date with the latest concerts, news and stories from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

We use cookies to provide you with the best experience of our website.