Since the beginning of lockdown, the RPO’s Co-Principal Cello Jonathan Ayling has been making the most of his unexpected time away from the concert stage and enjoying the extra practice time it has afforded him. He set about learning a piece that he had wanted to learn for years but had never got around to amid his usually busy schedule: Bach’s Cello Suite No.5.

Watch his video diary to see how he has been getting on, learn more about how the Suite is played and to enjoy some exquisite music from this legendary composer.

Part One: Prelude (first half)

Part Two: Prelude (second half)

Part Three: Allemande

Part Four: Courante

Part Five: Sarabande

Part Six: Gavotte

 Part Seven: Finale

Check back to this page for further episodes of this series over the coming weeks and watch our RPO at Home YouTube playlist for more videos.

Discover the exclusive benefits enjoyed by our most loyal audience members.
Support the RPO on our journey to make orchestral music accessible to all.
Stay up to date with the latest concerts, news and stories from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

We use cookies to provide you with the best experience of our website.