Octava – enriching your concert experience

Octava is a concert-enhancing app that delivers real-time programme notes to audiences’ mobile or tablet devices. Throughout a performance, Octava aims to enrich the audience’s live listening experience by delivering information at the exact moment the action happens onstage.

First trialled in the US, Octava aims to provide ‘a new level of concert engagement’ by delivering real-time programme notes during a live performance. Using Darkscreen™ Technology, the app is designed to deliver “glance optimised” information without distracting the viewer, or those around them, from the performance.

“Octava is a unique app designed to help and assist the participant through a musical journey. We of course welcome all users, but the tone is specifically aimed towards new and potentially younger audiences, offering a real-time insight into the music being played live on stage by the Orchestra.”

Chris Evans, RPO Director of Press and Marketing

Symphonic Soundscapes: The Music of Prokofiev and Sibelius

At its London home, Cadogan Hall, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (RPO) will collaborate with Octava exclusively in the RPO’s Symphonic Soundscapes series.

Throughout Symphonic Soundscapes, curated, presented and conducted by Alexander Shelley, audience members will be able to learn more about the music of eminent composers Sergei Prokofiev and Jean Sibelius through real-time programme notes on their chosen device, while connected to the venue’s WiFi.

“With Symphonic Soundscapes, I’m looking to... show how both composers started from similar points but, like the great composers before them, went on to develop their own styles. I want to trace the unfolding of their unique voices.”

Alexander Shelley, RPO Principal Associate Conductor

For further information on our Symphonic Soundscapes: The Music of Prokofiev and Sibelius concerts, including information about our special Octava package, visit our event pages and read our online brochure.

Coming up in the series…

Chloe Hanslip

Chloë Hanslip performs Sibelius' Violin Concerto on Wednesday 25 January 2017

View event


Ning Feng

Ning Feng performs Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No.1 on Sunday 29 January 2017

View event


Vadym Kholodenko

Vadym Kholodenko performs Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No.5 on Thursday 30 March 2017

View event


Introducing Octava

Save over 20%

Series price (Octava seats): £75
Individual price (Octava seats): £25
Promo code: OCTOFFER

Book for the series

Download the app

Octava is available for free download on the App Store (iOS) and Google Play (Android).