Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Pinchas Zukerman plays Elgar
Sunday 12 April 2015 7.30pm
Royal & Derngate, Northampton
CONDUCTOR - Christoph Koenig
violin - Pinchas Zukerman
£33.50, £31, £28, £26, £22, £15

BEETHOVEN Symphony No.3, 'Eroica'
ELGAR Violin Concerto

Beethoven’s Symphony No.3, ‘Eroica’, a work that, in its ambition, unprecedented scale and emotional depth, heralds the beginning of the Romantic Era. Originally entitled ‘Bonaparte’ after Napoleon, Beethoven changed the title to ‘Eroica’ (Heroic), disgusted at Napoleon when he declared himself ‘Emperor’ – his hero becoming, in his words, ‘just another tyrant’.

Elgar’s Violin Concerto in B minor has been widely recognised to match the melodic beauty of Beethoven. It is one of Elgar’s longest orchestral works and the greatest English contribution to the treasury of Romantic violin concertos. Internationally-acclaimed violinist Pinchas Zukerman will take to the stage to perform this magnificent concerto.

Box Office: 01604 624811