Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Tianwa Yang plays Brahms’ Violin Concerto
Tuesday 23 September 2014 7.30pm
Cadogan Hall, London
CONDUCTOR - Cristian Mandeal
violin - Tianwa Yang
£40, £32.50, £25, £15

BEETHOVEN Egmont Overture
BRAHMS Violin Concerto
FRANCK Symphony in D minor

When Beethoven’s imagination was caught by Goethe’s play, Egmont, his adopted home of Vienna had been occupied by the French. The play’s themes of personal and national freedom resonated with Beethoven’s circumstances and views, inspiring some stirring incidental music with this perfectly paced overture, combining drama, lyricism and, ultimately, victory.

Egmont hailed from Flemish Europe and our concert heads in that direction with music by Belgian composer Cesar Franck, whose D minor Symphony is a tour de force of suspenseful intrigue and lush orchestration.

These works frame Brahms’ Violin Concerto, performed by exceptional young violinist Tianwa Yang, which moves from a noble opening movement to the gorgeous Adagio, followed by an energetic finale.