Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Pinchas Zukerman performs Bach, Mendelssohn & Schoenberg
Thursday 26 June 2014 7.30pm
Cadogan Hall, London
Conductor/Violin - Pinchas Zukerman
Soprano - Arianna Zukerman
£40, £32.50, £25, £15

J.S. BACH Violin Concerto in A minor

SCHOENBERG Verklärte Nacht

MOZART Exsultate, jubilate

MENDELSSOHN Symphony No.4, 'Italian'

The illustrious violinist and conductor Pinchas Zukerman joins the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in what promises to be an exceptional series of concerts as part of this Summer Music Festival. In the opening concert, Zukerman performs J.S. Bach’s Violin Concerto in A minor.

An exemplar of the Baroque concerto, the faultless melodic lines and perfectly balanced structure of the work are a given; what draws audiences to the work, however, is the yearning melancholy of the violin, which comes across in every bar of the Concerto. Schoenberg’s tonal string sextet Verklärte Nacht, his earliest major work, was inspired by Richard Dehmel's poem of the same name. Mozart's Exsultate, jubilate and Mendelssohn’s ‘Italian’ Symphony, conclude this varied programme.

images/Pinchas pamphlet-front.jpg.jpg
Read more about the Pinchas Zukerman Summer Music Festival at Cadogan Hall.

Supported by Northern Trust and the Rolex Institute.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500