Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Mendelssohn, Sibelius & Brahms
Wednesday 7 May 2014 7.30pm
Cadogan Hall, London
CONDUCTOR - Grzegorz Nowak
violin - Ju-Young Baek
£40, £32.50, £25, £15

MENDELSSOHN A Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture
SIBELIUS Violin Concerto
BRAHMS Symphony No.4

Brimming with lyrical, colourful music, this concert begins with Mendelssohn’s evocative Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream. While classical in form, the Romantic atmosphere is unmistakable upon hearing the rich yet mysterious opening chords of the piece.

Sibelius' Violin Concerto is an outstanding contribution to the repertoire, with its combination of thrilling technique and soaring passion.

The majestic Symphony No.4 by Brahms was influenced by two of the composer’s heroes: Bach and Beethoven. The work opens in a dramatic vein and ends with one of Brahms’ greatest achievements: a grand ‘chaconne’ on a theme by Bach.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500