Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Grzegorz Nowak conducts Berlioz, Beethoven and Brahms
Tuesday 8 October 2013 7.30pm
Cadogan Hall, London
CONDUCTOR - Grzegorz Nowak
Violin - Robert Davidovici
£40, £32.50, £25, £15

BERLIOZ Roman Carnival Overture

BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto

BRAHMS Symphony No.1

Three outstanding works by three great masters, beginning with the glittering festivities of a Roman carnival, as portrayed by Berlioz in music full of romance and joie de vivre. Beethovenís Violin Concerto is a masterpiece of the genre, bridging the gap between Classical and Romantic concerto styles with elegance and wit. Beethovenís genius so overwhelmed Brahms that he was slow to write works that might be compared with those of his idol. It took Brahms nearly fifteen years to compose his First Symphony, but the work was worth the wait. The Symphony exudes great nobility and mastery of form, with a powerful opening movement, lyrical Andante, graceful third movement and stirring finale.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500