Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Heart of Darkness
Tuesday 23 April 2013 7.30pm
Cadogan Hall, London
CONDUCTOR - Nicholas Collon
Narrator - Samuel West
£40, £32.50, £25, £15

ELGAR Cockaigne Overture

TARIK O'REGAN Suite from Heart of Darkness for narrator and orchestra - London première
(Text by Tom Phillips, after Joseph Conrad)

SIBELIUS Symphony No.2

A heady mixture of new music and established classics, this concert combines two renowned masterworks with the London première of the Suite from Tarik O’Regan’s recent opera, Heart of Darkness. Inspired by Joseph Conrad’s novella, O’Regan’s opera has already met with great acclaim for its ‘music of startling beauty’ (The Observer) and ‘a magical and haunting sound-world’ (The Telegraph).

Elgar’s Cockaigne Overture is a vibrant celebration of London, depicting a couple exploring the metropolis, enjoying sounds from church bells to a brass band. The Second Symphony by Sibelius is one of his most engaging and beautiful compositions, overflowing with exhilarating orchestral textures.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500