Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Farhad Badalbeyli performs Prokofiev
Thursday 7 February 2013 7.30pm
Cadogan Hall, London
CONDUCTOR - Dmitry Yablonsky
Piano - Farhad Badalbeyli
£40, £32.50, £25, £15
Farhad Badalbeyli

SHOSTAKOVICH Festive Overture

SIBELIUS Karelia Suite

PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No.1

MUSSORGSKY, ORCH. RAVEL Pictures at an Exhibition

Written in just three days, Shostakovich’s Festive Overture is a dazzling tour de force, demanding breathtaking agility from the whole orchestra. Also written in haste, the Karelia Suite by Sibelius is one of his most popular works, its shimmering textures and bold melodies celebrating the composer’s native Finland. Prokofiev’s dynamic and colourful First Piano Concerto was written when he was a student; Prokofiev premiered the Concerto himself, considering it to be his first mature work. This programme culminates in the grandeur of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition orchestrated by Ravel, each movement vividly conjuring up a different scene.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500

RPO Friends: please call 020 7608 8855 to book last available tickets.