Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Janina Fialkowska performs Chopin
Friday 25 January 2013 7.30pm
Cadogan Hall, London
CONDUCTOR - Fabien Gabel
Piano - Janina Fialkowska
£40, £32.50, £25, £15
Janina Fialkowska

BRAHMS Tragic Overture

CHOPIN Piano Concerto No.2

BEETHOVEN Symphony No.6, 'Pastoral'

Brahms composed his Tragic Overture while on holiday in 1880, writing that 'I could not refuse my melancholy nature the satisfaction of composing an overture for a tragedy'. Whether or not Brahms had a particular tragedy in mind remains a mystery, but the Overture encompasses imposing, turbulent ideas, poignant lyricism and memorable rhythms. Chopinís Piano Concerto No.2 boasts one of his best-loved movements, the irresistibly romantic Larghetto, framed by an animated, intricate opening movement and a lively finale in the style of Polish folk-music. Beethovenís expansive ĎPastoralí Symphony is a magnificent mixture of charm and innovation, brimming with evocative melodies which create a vivid impression of the countryside in all its majesty.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500

RPO Friends: please call 020 7608 8855 to book last available tickets.