Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Janina Fialkowska performs Chopin
Wednesday 23 January 2013 7.30pm
Fairfield Halls, Croydon
CONDUCTOR - Fabien Gabel
Piano - Janina Fialkowska
£31.50, £28.50, £25.50, £22, £18, £12

BRAHMS Tragic Overture

CHOPIN Piano Concerto No.2

BEETHOVEN Symphony No.6, ‘Pastoral’

French conductor Fabien Gabel makes his Fairfield début to present a programme featuring three of the Romantic era's most distinguished composers. Brahms' darkly powerful Tragic Overture introduces Chopin's Piano Concerto No.2. Performed by Janina Fialkowska, a pianist renowned for her brilliant interpretations of the Romantic repertoire, it is a work of variety, containing lyrical melodies, elaborate ornamentation and Polish folk music influences. Finally, we travel to the countryside to revel in the glorious musical landscape of Beethoven's 'Pastoral' Symphony, its popular 'storm' movement surrounded by music of sunny grace and rustic charm.

Box Office: 020 8688 9291