Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Kirill Karabits conducts Borodin, Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky
Saturday 23 March 2013 7.30pm
The Hexagon, Reading
CONDUCTOR - Kirill Karabits
Piano - Alexei Volodin
32, 28.50, 25.50, 20.50, 16

BORODIN Prince Igor Overture

PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No.3

TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No.1, 'Winter Daydreams'

Acclaimed Ukranian maestro Kirill Karabits leads an enchanting programme of Russian masterworks overflowing with inventive themes and glittering sonorities. Borodin was respected as a chemist, but it is as a composer of colourful orchestration and irresistible melodies that he is remembered. The Overture to his opera Prince Igor begins in mysterious vein, but is soon effervescing with excitement. Prokofiev began sketching his Third Piano Concerto in 1917, completing it in Brittany in 1921. Full of evocative textures, the Concerto develops a relationship between piano and orchestra that encompasses lively dialogue and profound intimacy, performed here by Russian pianist, Alexei Volodin. In his First Symphony, 'Winter Daydreams', Tchaikovsky vividly conjures up blustery and atmospheric scenes with his characteristic dramatic flair.

Pre-concert talk, 6.15pm, The Hexagon Auditorium - FREE

Box Office: 0118 960 6060