Royal Philharmonic Orchestra


Enter your details below to receive regular updates on the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's activities.

Shostakovich Symphony No.5; Festive Overture
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Grzegorz Nowak
The next release in the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra's series of discs conducted by Grzegorz Nowak and recorded in the excellent acoustics of Cadogan Hall. Shostakovich’s Symphony No.5 is dark and full of the drama of the Soviet age, with the Festive Overture an irrepressibly breezy contrast.

Symphony No.5 in D minor, Op.47
1. I. Moderato
2. II. Allegretto
3. III. Largo
4. IV. Allegro non troppo

5. Festive Overture, Op.96